OWH Analog

Get punchy images with film-like colors, contrast and highlight roll-off with this film simulation recipe.

Øyvind Nordhagen
7 min readOct 5, 2023
Wiesn love. Munich September 2023. OWH Analog -0,33 EV

I already have the OWH Film, OWH Ektar 100, OWH FunSaver and OWH Film 2 recipes published that mimic film in various ways, so how is this one different?

Firstly, all my other recipes emulate negative film in some way. This one does not attempt to look like it’s shot on film at all, but if it did it would more closely resemble chrome/positive film, AKA slide film. Secondly this one is about protecting highlights more than anything. But most of all this recipe is about counteracting the digital look more than adding an analog look.

Fujifilm sensor calibration and processing is quite good at not looking digital out of the box, but there are still some tell tale signs left to deal with. I’ve broken it down into these areas:

  • Highlight protection and black levels (contrast)
  • Rendition of yellows
  • Sharpness/texture

As a bonus for what I want to use this recipe for, I wanted skin that looks gorgeously sunkissed, as shown in the top image of this article. This gave me the base film simulation, which is of course Astia 😀.

--

--

Øyvind Nordhagen

Photographer based in Oslo. I write about photographic technique and editing.