OWH Recipe Pack

3 Fujifilm recipes to cover most use cases

Øyvind Nordhagen
5 min readNov 21, 2021

It’s been 14 months since I switched to Fujifilm. All that time I have been working to get as much right in camera as I can. Not because I have anything against photo editing. More because it forces me to sharpen my skills and think about the final look before pressing the shutter.

I have shared three other recipes (here, here and here) that have different purposes and looks. One thing that’s common with my approach though, is that I couldn’t care less if my images look like a particular analog film stock. Still, I do want my images to not look like they were shot digitally. I’m always looking for a happy medium, not going all the way to something you can’t back out of.

Distilling the look

This is a pack of three recipes that are the culmination of what I have learned about my own taste over the last 14 months. There are so many great photographers I admire and I have been going back and forth, trying to see how close I can get to other images I like. But these experiments have always been short-lived. Whatever I went back to formed a new pillar of what I have come to realize is the style I prefer. A Fujilfim recipe that sums this up has to have:

  • Absolutely no digital highlight clipping
  • Punchy, but not…

--

--

Øyvind Nordhagen

Photographer based in Oslo. I write about photographic technique and editing.